When does researching for writing become procrastination?

Standard

For some reason I had The Muppets song ‘Istanbul, not Constantinople’ in my head as I wrote the post title.  Constantinople and procrastination do have the same number of syllables and I am only on line two of this post and I want to stop and go and listen to that song. Damn you procrastination!!! You strike again.

Ok, that was awesome and I have included a link for you my beloved readers if you want to hear the song: youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=20uXjti9h4I

So, yes, that is a good example of what procrastination could be. But hey, if you are writing, you need those little breaks to keep you going over the long stretch. If I had carried on all day watching youtube videos, then I would be procrastinating.

I recently wrote a play about Edgar Allen Poe. I only had two weeks to write it, so the research period was intense. Actually, it was intense in more ways than one. I knew nothing much about Poe before I started writing the play and as it turned out what I thought I knew was mostly wrong. I did go into full Poe mode for seven days. I read everything of his I could, I had a Poe screen-saver (his little beady eyes stared at me all day everyday judging me as I adapted his work), I listened to gothic music to get my juices going and I bought a Raven. (Ok, the last part is not true, but you get the idea). As a result of all this, I was left slightly traumatised and having some seriously messed up and scary dreams (which considering how crazy my dreams are normally, is saying something). I did learn a lot about the man however and it helped me form a character that I had no intention of writing as I started. Did you know Poe was actually tee-total for long periods (up to two years, which makes anyone giving up for January look a tad amateur, although I totally failed to give up for January, so no judgement) and then went a bit overboard when he did drink? No-one actually knows how he died or what happened to him for the four days he went missing before his death. Oh, and he would have been Sigmund Freud’s ultimate wet dream. To say Poe had mummy issues is the greatest affront to understatement the world has ever seen. I did end up totally liking him though.

I could never have written the play without research and it was the limited time I had to write it that really helped. There was no time for procrastination. It taught me that research is great, but only when it is turned into something.

Today I am researching The Quantum Theory of Consciousness (nope, I have no idea either) for a play about a man in a spaceship all alone. And on that note, I best stop blogging and get back to writing.

Take care buddies,

David

About davidmbeecroft

Hello and welcome to my blog. Please feel free to have an explore. My name is David Beecroft. I am 38 years old. I co-founded and ran a small scale touring theatre company called Screwed & Clued in 1998. I went on to tour the Canadian Fringe Theatre Festival circuit over the following five years. I have written six original plays, the last ‘The Poe Show’ won a Best in Fest award at the 2014 Ottawa Fringe Festival. I worked in a social care setting for ten years and now work in a special needs school. I have sent my first novel off to agents and considering self-publishing if that does not work. I co-host a radio show on Surrey Hills Community Radio called Daves of the Week where we feature charities for a six week period. I live with my fiance and two pet Degus. I started this blog when suffering from depression and attending therapy, so a large part of this blog was about my experience and thoughts of that. Since then I am in a much better place and I write about life after depression and how I stay (or try to) ahead of it happening again. I also like to look at the happier sides of life and try to put a positive spin on serious subjects.

Leave a Reply

