The downside.

Standard

Today I am going to write about one of the downsides of being an aspiring author, namely the aspiring part. Today marks exactly eight weeks since I sent my first book off to seven agents. To date, I have had two rejection emails. The first was positive, the second even more positive (if there can be such a thing as a positive rejection; even if you get turned down for a date in a positive way, you still ain’t getting that date and its a microwaveable meal for one tonight). So, now I am facing the prospect of emailing the agents to say ‘Hi guys, I know you are probably just making me wait to add dramatic tension to the scene, but hey, are you interested in my book or, shall I get the microwave on and eat alone tonight?’ I am of course presuming that the agents I sent my book too have read this blog to give that joke some context, otherwise it is going to go down like a lead balloon. On a side note, how on earth do they get the air into a lead balloon? So, back to the point (if I have one), should I take the bull by the horns (only after taking it out for dinner and dancing first as I would not want to be presumptuous) and email to find out potentially discouraging news that the book is not right for them? Or do I wait a few more days in hope? My reserves of hope are stretched after waiting for eight weeks, checking emails and the post box several times a day and literally jumping in shock when I see a phone number I don’t recognise only to suffer the crushing disappointment of it being a sales call for something that I do not need. Its odd how sales calls never start with ‘Would you like an agent or a book deal?’ So, the unknown, the highs and the lows are all part of dealing with existence as an aspiring author. I will email them on Monday. It is the weekend afterall and I have waited for eight weeks, so another two days won’t make much difference. If it is bad news, I will send it out to another seven agents and begin another eight week cycle of certainty and doubt. Or maybe I won’t have to. There is still tomorrow’s post to arrive. The phone might still ring. I have learnt that if there is one thing an aspiring author needs, it is hope. Hope is what gets us all started in the first place and keeps us going when the doubt pops by to say hello. So, here is to hoping.

Take care buddies,

David

About davidmbeecroft

Hello and welcome to my blog. Please feel free to have an explore. My name is David Beecroft. I am 38 years old. I co-founded and ran a small scale touring theatre company called Screwed & Clued in 1998. I went on to tour the Canadian Fringe Theatre Festival circuit over the following five years. I have written six original plays, the last ‘The Poe Show’ won a Best in Fest award at the 2014 Ottawa Fringe Festival. I worked in a social care setting for ten years and now work in a special needs school. I have sent my first novel off to agents and considering self-publishing if that does not work. I co-host a radio show on Surrey Hills Community Radio called Daves of the Week where we feature charities for a six week period. I live with my fiance and two pet Degus. I started this blog when suffering from depression and attending therapy, so a large part of this blog was about my experience and thoughts of that. Since then I am in a much better place and I write about life after depression and how I stay (or try to) ahead of it happening again. I also like to look at the happier sides of life and try to put a positive spin on serious subjects.

3 responses »

  1. Do they give guidance on expected turn-around times? 8 weeks does not seem overly long for a novel submission. I’ve not submitted any novels myself, but I hear the wait times can be much more egregious than 8 weeks, and a long response does not mean a rejection is looming, necessarily. I would consider waiting, or at least digging for expected response times.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

