Diversity in Writing.

Standard

A friend of mine called Andrew Ryan (not the dictator and creator of the underwater city of Rapture in Bioshock) made a comment today that got me thinking. Andrew Ryan (again not the Bioshock guy) said that I diversify a lot with my writing. Naturally I said thank you and then felt that as a writer, it was my duty to steal the idea and post it to my blog post haste. Sadly, Andrew Ryan is no longer with us (this time, the Bioshock guy – he had a terrible golfing accident), although I do not know why I sadly as I was the one that killed him with a golf club many times whilst playing Bioshock. However, I tangent. So, I got to thinking about why people, or more specifically me, put myself through the hope/fear combination discussed yesterday in ‘The Downside’ post. Obviously I would love to be a paid writer, but I have to acknowledge it is a long shot. It won’t stop me trying, but to act like everything definitely will work out is silly. I did come up with a positive concept out of this though. I think that the reason aspiring authors carry on riding a horse called optimism instead of driving a car called experience is that if it does work out, we get to do a job that is probably more diverse than anything I can think of. Think about it. This year I have written a book, a play about Edgar Allen Poe and I am now writing a one man show and another musical theatre piece. What I find so endlessly exciting is, what might I have the honour of writing next? It could be a screen play, or a history book, or a new blog on why dogs are the happiest creatures on earth. Not only that, but the genres keep changing and evolving and, to use common parlance, mash up. Who would have thought twenty years ago that a @Zom Rom Com’ would exist? Or musical horror? What’s wonders will come next. A ‘Zom Rom Com Song Horr’ – TM David M Beecroft 2014. (Ok, I know the last one doesn’t really fit, but come on! If you just say it a little weird we can make this work. Its you and me buddy. And besides, its a small thing I ask, it’s not like I am demanding your first born child or anything. Go with it!) I can’t think of any other profession where there is such freedom to explore different ideas. A doctor can spend ten years training to become a brain surgeon, but I would not want him to do my back surgery just because he felt like a change of scene. So, in the end, that is why I carry on in the face of frankly rubbish odds. I do it because the pot of gold at the end of my writing rainbow is a job I love with limitless scope for always exploring something new.

Take buddies,

David.

P.S Now give me your first born child.

About davidmbeecroft

Hello and welcome to my blog. Please feel free to have an explore. My name is David Beecroft. I am 38 years old. I co-founded and ran a small scale touring theatre company called Screwed & Clued in 1998. I went on to tour the Canadian Fringe Theatre Festival circuit over the following five years. I have written six original plays, the last ‘The Poe Show’ won a Best in Fest award at the 2014 Ottawa Fringe Festival. I worked in a social care setting for ten years and now work in a special needs school. I have sent my first novel off to agents and considering self-publishing if that does not work. I co-host a radio show on Surrey Hills Community Radio called Daves of the Week where we feature charities for a six week period. I live with my fiance and two pet Degus. I started this blog when suffering from depression and attending therapy, so a large part of this blog was about my experience and thoughts of that. Since then I am in a much better place and I write about life after depression and how I stay (or try to) ahead of it happening again. I also like to look at the happier sides of life and try to put a positive spin on serious subjects.

Leave a Reply

