David’s thought for the day 14/Main post for today – combo attack!!!

Standard
David’s thought for the day 14/Main post for today – combo attack!!!

Has online communication and texting etc affected the way we communicate with each other verbally?

So why the combo post I hear at least two people ask? It is mainly because this thought has been bothering me for the past few days and it feels too big to deal with in a thought for the day post. I do not know why I am enforcing a size limit on certain posts, but hey that is how I roll.

Interlude – I need to point something out. I live in perpetual fear of coming across as preachy in my blog.  Honestly, I have scrapped three ideas for posts in the past three days because I just did not feel I was in a position to speak like an expert on certain things. As two of these ideas were to do with writing, this fear does make writing my own blog tricky, but I do like a challenge.

Interlude within an interlude (cough – I completed Max Payne 3 on New York Minute Hardcore mode)(double cough – do you have to mention that every possible opportunity?)(yes, because it was an awesome thing to complete and I rock)(good point sir – well played)(Lols)(Lols).

The return of the Interlude – Interludia – I also need to point out that I think there is a difference between preaching in terms of faith or religion and being preachy in terms of vegans. Preaching requires faith. Being preachy (but only if absolutely necessary) requires knowledge and evidence. As the title of this blog gently hints, I do not see myself as bona fide writer (yet, but hopefully one day), so I hesitated about writing on topics like ‘what it takes to be a writer’ or ‘how to become a writer’ as, so far, I haven’t ranked up enough skill points to get that achievement.

So, back to the point. I am wondering if the more people communicate non-verbally, the more it affects our verbal communications? For instance, has anyone else noticed that being interrupted is becoming a more common event? Or has it? It might just be me and the era I grew up in, or the country I grew up in etc. It is all going to be subjective from my point of view. When I was a kid, (1980’s, Sutton, England) I used to get into so much trouble for interrupting people, especially my elders. I was taught that it was rude. Now I think about it, it was only rude when I interrupted people, but it was fine for my elders to interrupt me. Ah, such is the injustice of childhood. I can see their point however. It is a bit rude to cut across someone when they are mid-sentence. Or is it merely rude from my point of view? What if it is not their intent to come across as rude? So, this is why I asked about online communication, because, in many instances, you can’t physically interrupt people this way. Two people can type messages to each other at the same time, but neither is cutting across the other. A message popping up while you are typing does not stop you typing and you can still get your full message across. On the one hand, this is fine for online communication, on the other, is it fine to do the same thing in person?

Think about it like this. If you have been dying to say something to someone and just as you get to the part that really means something to you, they say ‘Hey, I saw Jonny the other day. He has a new cat. Oh, what were you saying?’ Or think about if you were the one interrupting and try and see it from their point of view. Now, I am not saying anything bad against anyone and I am not saying I am definitely in the right here. I will tentatively suggest that it is worth considering. If it can make day to day dialogue slightly more pleasant then that has to be a good thing right?

Interlude 4 – Interludicrous (aka we should have stopped making sequels at Police Academy 3) – God, I feel bad even making such a simple comment. The lengths I try and go to to not seem preachy. I might not have even succeeded.

Segue – (I know there should be a better segue here, but, well, there is not).

This is where I will talk confidently about one aspect of writing that I do not fear to walk through the valley of preach about. The most common compliment I received when I told people I completed my first book was ‘Wow. I could never write a book. I just don’t have the dedication.’ Let me set this out right here in the most forceful way this medium allows me – YES YOU CAN! If I can, then anyone can.

Post Blog Interlude/Correction – Interludius Interruptus

As the late great Roy Castle (I originally put Jonny Ball by mistake. I was kindly corrected by Andrew Ryan (and yes I know, this guy is everywhere at the moment) who helped me edit my book. As you can see, there is no such thing as being off the clock with him. Also, Jonny Ball was awesome, so I am not deleting him from this post on account of my mistake) said ‘Dedication is what you need.’ Put down one page after another and you will unavoidably end with a book at the end. It may not be good or perfect (and I still have no real certainty that the book I wrote was any good) but it will be finished. A finished thing can be edited, revised, re-worked etc. It is no different to me saying (and oh God, I know I am going to regret this, but it is too late now) that I could never run a half marathon as I just don’t have the dedication.

Interlude 5 – Interlude Origins-The Reboot (aka the series became rubbish, but maybe if we re-do it with different actors, it will become good again? Maybe?) – I have just painted myself into a corner. Bugger!

Now I have gone and done it. I know where this going and I can’t back out now as it would not be honest. I offer this deal to anyone who has said ‘I could never finish a book.’ You finish the book. I will run a half-marathon. (You idiot Beecroft). I mean it. Let’s hook up. You give me weekly reports on how many pages you have written, I will give you back how many miles I have jogged in training. Frankly, I think you are getting the better deal as you do not know how much of a clumpy runner I am.

The pen is in your court.

Take care buddies,

David.

About davidmbeecroft

Hello and welcome to my blog. Please feel free to have an explore. My name is David Beecroft. I am 38 years old. I co-founded and ran a small scale touring theatre company called Screwed & Clued in 1998. I went on to tour the Canadian Fringe Theatre Festival circuit over the following five years. I have written six original plays, the last ‘The Poe Show’ won a Best in Fest award at the 2014 Ottawa Fringe Festival. I worked in a social care setting for ten years and now work in a special needs school. I have sent my first novel off to agents and considering self-publishing if that does not work. I co-host a radio show on Surrey Hills Community Radio called Daves of the Week where we feature charities for a six week period. I live with my fiance and two pet Degus. I started this blog when suffering from depression and attending therapy, so a large part of this blog was about my experience and thoughts of that. Since then I am in a much better place and I write about life after depression and how I stay (or try to) ahead of it happening again. I also like to look at the happier sides of life and try to put a positive spin on serious subjects.

One response »

Leave a Reply

