Live from the booth 3 – Inside the Inner Circle.

Standard
Live from the booth 3 – Inside the Inner Circle.

I arrived for the food tasting panel I was booked onto and then I was asked to join (or Headhunted as I prefer to think of it) another panel. I agreed and the woman running it said she would see to it that I got some more invites to other panels as a thank you. I have made it people. I am inside the inner circle. 

I am now also referred to as an ‘experienced taster’ and I got to show the newbies what was what. I explained to them they shouldn’t scream in surprise when the hatches open and to not eat condiments like ketchup or mayonnaise without getting some chips first.

 

So, now I am an experienced taster, where is there left for me to go, I hear you ask? Surely I have reached the top? Oh no, no, no. I learnt today there are people known as ‘super tasters’ (and yes, in my mind I imagine them as nothing but a mouth with a cape) who are super good at spotting different flavours. It is all in our genetic make-up apparently.

I am resolved to become a ‘super-taster’ (I want that cape) and I am going to put my taste-buds through a Rocky style training montage. I will wake up each morning, put on ‘Eye of the Tiger’ and drink twelve eggs. After being sick, I will then throw all manner of taste at my buds. Will it be sweet? Or salty? Or umani? Does anyone really know what umani is?

One last thing. I joked to the woman running the course that I was gutted about missing out on the bakewell tarts in the other session. As I went to leave, she called me back and gave a me a tin foil wrapped plate. I opened it, and to my utter delight, she had given me a slice of bakewell tart. Things like this just make the world a better place. 

Take care buddies, 

David.

About davidmbeecroft

Hello and welcome to my blog. Please feel free to have an explore. My name is David Beecroft. I am 38 years old. I co-founded and ran a small scale touring theatre company called Screwed & Clued in 1998. I went on to tour the Canadian Fringe Theatre Festival circuit over the following five years. I have written six original plays, the last ‘The Poe Show’ won a Best in Fest award at the 2014 Ottawa Fringe Festival. I worked in a social care setting for ten years and now work in a special needs school. I have sent my first novel off to agents and considering self-publishing if that does not work. I co-host a radio show on Surrey Hills Community Radio called Daves of the Week where we feature charities for a six week period. I live with my fiance and two pet Degus. I started this blog when suffering from depression and attending therapy, so a large part of this blog was about my experience and thoughts of that. Since then I am in a much better place and I write about life after depression and how I stay (or try to) ahead of it happening again. I also like to look at the happier sides of life and try to put a positive spin on serious subjects.

Leave a Reply

