Sending my Book to Agents – Phase 2 – Part 2 – Old School Stylie.

Standard
Sending my Book to Agents – Phase 2 – Part 2 – Old School Stylie.

Today I am wrapped up in a big, warm snuggly blanket of nostalgia, fond memories and my inner most dreams. 

I had to go to town to buy A4 paper, envelopes and bull dog clips as I needed to send my book to agents in paper form. I went to WH Smiths and as always, I looked at the books on the shelves and thought ‘One day.’ I mentioned nostalgia earlier. I think book stores are the most nostalgic places for me. The smell of books gets me every time. The fact that I take a deep sniff whenever I walk into a book store does attract the occasional odd stare, but I can deal with that. 

I was transported to when I was about five years old and my first remembrance of being in a book store. I actually saw a young kid with an armful of books and a big old smile on his face because he knew that he was going to be reading those books soon and then who knows what might happen? It reminded me of being a kid and not being able to wait until I got home before I dove into the books I had just bought. I still love that feeling and now I am adding to that by dreaming of being the one who wrote a book that someone just can’t wait to get home to read.

Interlude – Two years ago, Gauri told me that I had a doppelganger who worked in my local WH Smiths. I didn’t believe this until I took a slightly hung over walk into town one day. I saw this guy and for a second I was so confused that I wondered if I was having an out of body experience. I actually thought ‘Is that me over there?’ I realised that it was more likely my doppelganger that Gauri had told me about. It still made my day way more weird than it needed to be. 

The fact that I had to buy paper and envelopes to send my book to agents made me think about how far we have come in terms of technology for writing and sending what we write. When I first dreamt of being a writer many moons ago, I had a typewriter. Yup. I am that old. When we applied to Canadian Fringe festivals, we had to send it all by post. Now, it can be e-mailed in a jiffy. I e-mailed book to agents, but I have to say that it felt more real to post my book than to click send. 

It was funny at the post office. The lady asked me if there was anything valuable in the envelopes. I shrugged and replied ‘My book, so you can make your own decision from that.’ I suddenly realised that I was shaking from nerves and that the lady was giving me a kindly smile. She asked ‘Is this your baby?’ I replied ‘Pretty much.’ I intended to pat each envelope for good luck but then realised I would add weight to the scales that I could not afford to pay, so I whispered ‘Good luck.’ to each of them as they went through the window. Man, I am wishing that lasy every bit of good karma she can take. She was awesome and the little human interaction we went through was so warming to my soul. I walked home with a big ol’ smile on my face and in the best mood for ages. And I saw a total of seven dogs, which only ever brightens my day.

Before I finish, I wanted to say thank you to Charlotte Cuevas. She commented on a post o’ mine about chasing dreams etc which made me think about writing this post in the first place. She is also a seriously awesome poet, so check her out on http://charlottecuevas.wordpress.com/ and please like, share, tweet her stuff as she totally deserves it. 

Take care buddies,

David. 

About davidmbeecroft

Hello and welcome to my blog. Please feel free to have an explore. My name is David Beecroft. I am 38 years old. I co-founded and ran a small scale touring theatre company called Screwed & Clued in 1998. I went on to tour the Canadian Fringe Theatre Festival circuit over the following five years. I have written six original plays, the last ‘The Poe Show’ won a Best in Fest award at the 2014 Ottawa Fringe Festival. I worked in a social care setting for ten years and now work in a special needs school. I have sent my first novel off to agents and considering self-publishing if that does not work. I co-host a radio show on Surrey Hills Community Radio called Daves of the Week where we feature charities for a six week period. I live with my fiance and two pet Degus. I started this blog when suffering from depression and attending therapy, so a large part of this blog was about my experience and thoughts of that. Since then I am in a much better place and I write about life after depression and how I stay (or try to) ahead of it happening again. I also like to look at the happier sides of life and try to put a positive spin on serious subjects.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

