Therapy Thursday.

Standard
Therapy Thursday.

As the title gently suggests, Thursday is my therapy day. Well, only for today as it is moving to Friday next week, which rather buggers the title up; Ferapy Friday will not have the same ring to it as a post title. And it will be deeply misspelt. But, that is a worry for next week. 

A quick shout out for therapy in general. My fiance is a therapist (among many other things) so she and her profession deserves a positive mention I think. Therapy is not something to be scared of. Although saying this, I did put it off for two years when I seriously could have done with it, but everything in its own time. I don’t even go anymore because of depression. After I stopped the anti-depressants, I thought about stopping. I then realised that I was effectively free to be whoever I wanted be now I was medication and depression free (now that is a scary thought) and I thought therapy would help me build my foundations on solid stone rather than sand. There you go, a nice little biblical reference for you. 

I should also give a shout out to wordpress. This blog has become very therapeutic for me. If any of you have read/done ‘The Artist’s Way’, the author suggests completing morning pages where you stream of conciousness write for three pages to clear out the old noggin. For the benefit of my beloved readers, I naturally put more thought into this blog than that. Or do I? Thinking about it now, I rarely edit anything I write, except for the odd typo and it all comes to you pretty much fresh out of the can. I leave it to you to decide if that is a good or a bad thing. Cheers wordpress buddies. 

So, I had this dream last night. It may have been the cheese I ate before bed, or something else, but it was seriously funky. I am not sure how to describe the dream I had. I guess it is the opposite of an out of body experience, in that I was definitely in my body, but there were to of me in the dream. (Now what was I saying about not needing therapy?) Anyway, I think the other me was a future, older me. He seemed wiser than me, although that is probably not hard. He did sit me down and give me a good talking to. He told me that I was a good writer and that I need to believe in myself (his words, not mine).

Now, this is where it gets tricky for me. It was a dream in which I told myself to believe in my dreams of becoming a writer. But, and this is a big but (and I like big butts and I don’t know why) how do I know when something in a dream is a dream (positive) or fantasy (negative)? I think I will take it to therapy.

Oh jeez, wait. Have I broken client/therapist confidentiality by writing about this? One sec, let me ask Gauri. (Gauri – when you read this later, this is why I am about to ask you a seemingly random question. Don’t worry now though; it will make sense later. Lol, how many times have I said that in our time together?).

Asked and answered. She doesn’t think I am breaking confidentiality, and as she is the professional, I am going to take her word for it. 

So, I best wrap this up. I have a train to catch and a session to go to. I might blog about it later on. I am never sure pre-therapy what I am going to feel post- therapy. Then again, I think that is the point. Anyway, I hope you all have a good day.

Take care buddies, 

David. 

About davidmbeecroft

Hello and welcome to my blog. Please feel free to have an explore. My name is David Beecroft. I am 38 years old. I co-founded and ran a small scale touring theatre company called Screwed & Clued in 1998. I went on to tour the Canadian Fringe Theatre Festival circuit over the following five years. I have written six original plays, the last ‘The Poe Show’ won a Best in Fest award at the 2014 Ottawa Fringe Festival. I worked in a social care setting for ten years and now work in a special needs school. I have sent my first novel off to agents and considering self-publishing if that does not work. I co-host a radio show on Surrey Hills Community Radio called Daves of the Week where we feature charities for a six week period. I live with my fiance and two pet Degus. I started this blog when suffering from depression and attending therapy, so a large part of this blog was about my experience and thoughts of that. Since then I am in a much better place and I write about life after depression and how I stay (or try to) ahead of it happening again. I also like to look at the happier sides of life and try to put a positive spin on serious subjects.

5 responses »

  1. Hello David!!! Would you share your dream with me? I’m working on a dream project and yours sounds pretty cool. If you are interested take a look at my blog. It would be great!!

    P.S. Thursday is my therapy day too. You will miss it but ferapy friday sounds kinda cool 😉

    nice greetings from México

    Like

  2. I need therapy. I just got another rejection letter today lol :/ :

    Dear Ms Buytenhuys:

    It is with kind thanks that I respond to your submission to Kimberley Cameron & Associates Literary Agency. Please be assured that I have carefully considered your project. Unfortunately, I don’t feel the manuscript is right for me at this time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

