Interacting with Americans. A new way of thinking.

Standard
Interacting with Americans. A new way of thinking.

I have spent a huge part of my day chatting with an American guy called John Rapp. He is on a podcast called The Chris Brake Show. 

Ah shit, Chris Brake Show guys, I am really trying to order this post well, but my brain just does not work that way. This will be so tangential it is unreal. In my defence, your podcast made me think about a ton of different stuff today, so really it is your fault for lighting my brain on fire. 

Oh, and everything I am about to say is going to be true. Every word. I do not believe in promoting anything I do not actually like. I know I ask people to like, share, tweet etc all the time, but only ever do it if you dig the thing I am suggesting. If you don’t like it, then that is fine. Never like anything I suggest just because I suggest it. You got your own minds, and I trust them to make their own decisions. 

I don’t get this whole slamming America for its use of language. Language has, does and always will evolve. Who has time to care if through and thru are spelt differently? And if you do care, seriously, don’t. Life is awesome. Don’t waste your time on the minutiae. 

The reason I say all this, is that I listened to episode three of the show.

http://chrisbrakeshow.com/2013/10/20/indianapolis-hip-hop-musician-the-almighty-spit/

I will be honest. There is no real point reading this post unless you listen to the episode. It was one of the most powerful hours of podcast I have heard. In case you don’t have the time to listen, then I will explain briefly, but only briefly, because the two people I am going to talk about express themselves in a way that is more emotional and poetic that I could ever hope to recreate. And I will not do them that injustice. Chris spoke of kindergarten. Mark spoke about his childhood. Seriously, just listen to it. 

Over the course of today, I have been chatting to Chris and John from the show. They both mentioned Mark. I learned that Mark isn’t doing so well. So, John was kind enough to send me the link for Mark’s Facebook so I could pass on my best wishes. I did. Mark responded. We had a chat. I felt like a better human being for reaching out to a stranger. Then, again, is he really a stranger?

Well, I’ll be damned. I am actually going to come full circle in a post and tie up all the lose ends. My post title was ‘Interacting with Americans. A new way of thinking.’ One word I kept hearing today has stuck with me. It’s is, I believe an American way of not just speaking, but thinking. They say ‘brother’ a lot. ‘Hey brother, keep strong.’ I said it to Mark. Mark said it to me. And I thought, I have never met this guy. I will probably never meet this guy. Do I consider him my brother. Yes. I do actually. I love this simple way of expressing that we are connected and share a common experience in life that we all can relate to.

In England, we use the term mate. I prefer the term brother because we can take and leave friends, but a brother, that is someone that sticks with you through anything. I hope I have made a few new brothers today. I hope to make more tomorrow.  

Take care brothers, 

David. 

About davidmbeecroft

Hello and welcome to my blog. Please feel free to have an explore. My name is David Beecroft. I am 38 years old. I co-founded and ran a small scale touring theatre company called Screwed & Clued in 1998. I went on to tour the Canadian Fringe Theatre Festival circuit over the following five years. I have written six original plays, the last ‘The Poe Show’ won a Best in Fest award at the 2014 Ottawa Fringe Festival. I worked in a social care setting for ten years and now work in a special needs school. I have sent my first novel off to agents and considering self-publishing if that does not work. I co-host a radio show on Surrey Hills Community Radio called Daves of the Week where we feature charities for a six week period. I live with my fiance and two pet Degus. I started this blog when suffering from depression and attending therapy, so a large part of this blog was about my experience and thoughts of that. Since then I am in a much better place and I write about life after depression and how I stay (or try to) ahead of it happening again. I also like to look at the happier sides of life and try to put a positive spin on serious subjects.

7 responses »

  1. Thanks for all the compliments you guys!

    Chris and I really enjoyed this post, and are honored to have you write about our show! We think it’s even cooler that you reached out to Mark and had a meaningful connection with him.

    We are very glad to exchange with you, even if your English speaking ways sometimes confuse us!

    -john

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

