Ferapy Friday/Freud on a Friday

Standard
Ferapy Friday/Freud on a Friday

So, it should be clear that I couldn’t come up with a better name for this post now my therapy day has changed to a Friday. It used to be Therapy Thursday. Ferapy is clearly spelt wrong and my therapist is not Freudian in her counselling. Hey ho! It might change again as I have to see if I can swap my therapy day for my gardening job. I am hoping that I won’t end up having to choose between money and therapy because I honestly don’t know what I will do. I feel like I need the therapy, but in a recession, who can afford to turn down work?

What would you choose if you had to between work and therapy? 

Is there a better name for this post? If you can think of one, please let me know. 

My girlfriend mentioned something to me and I was wondering what other people think about it? I have a bit of pre and post therapy period of being bummed out. I get nervous the night before and I am generally down after therapy. Not always, but things have been rough recently, so I am having to work on a few things. She asked if it was a good thing to let therapy take up so much time before and after. I am not sure what I think. I can see her point and reasoning, but I don’t seem to be able to put it into practise. 

Does anyone else feel this way before and/or after therapy? 

Maybe it depends on what I need to discuss in therapy? I have come out of therapy before and bounced along in a great mood and got a lot of good writing done afterwards. On other occasions, it is an effort to be able to walk down the street to get my train home. Does anyone else feel like going anywhere else other than home after therapy? Sometimes, I feel like I should get on a train to anywhere instead of going back to my flat. OK, I have just realised that this is a physical representation of my need to run away from my issues. Jeez, how did I miss that before now? I guess it is a good thing that I always actually come back home, even if I feel like running away. 

So, I am feeling nervous before I go today. Big issues to get through. And sitting here looking at a blinking cursor trying to think of something to write so I can put off getting ready for a little bit longer is pointless. I am going say cheerio for now as I need to go and get ready. I hope you are all well.

Take care buddies,

David.  

 

About davidmbeecroft

Hello and welcome to my blog. Please feel free to have an explore. My name is David Beecroft. I am 38 years old. I co-founded and ran a small scale touring theatre company called Screwed & Clued in 1998. I went on to tour the Canadian Fringe Theatre Festival circuit over the following five years. I have written six original plays, the last ‘The Poe Show’ won a Best in Fest award at the 2014 Ottawa Fringe Festival. I worked in a social care setting for ten years and now work in a special needs school. I have sent my first novel off to agents and considering self-publishing if that does not work. I co-host a radio show on Surrey Hills Community Radio called Daves of the Week where we feature charities for a six week period. I live with my fiance and two pet Degus. I started this blog when suffering from depression and attending therapy, so a large part of this blog was about my experience and thoughts of that. Since then I am in a much better place and I write about life after depression and how I stay (or try to) ahead of it happening again. I also like to look at the happier sides of life and try to put a positive spin on serious subjects.

Leave a Reply

