An honourable mention on The Chris Brake Show.

Standard
An honourable mention on The Chris Brake Show.

First off, I am going to stop apologizing for rambling. I do it too often (ramble and apologise) and it will save time if we all agree that it is going to happen.

I am especially rambly today as my brain goes missing the day after therapy. I was just in town to meet Gauri quickly while she was on a lunch break, and I mentioned that my head after therapy feels like my head does after sex. You know that peaceful feeling after sex where the brain is empty and peaceful? I feel like that today. I think of it as a brain orgasm of emotions. Apparently, in over four years of being a counsellor she has never heard of a post therapy experience being described like that. So, I get an A for originality.

I woke up in a daze and with as yet unrealised symptoms of food poisoning and checked my phone. To my delight, I saw that John Rapp had posted on Facebook that the latest episode of The Chris Brake Show was out and that my name was on the poster for the show. I thought ‘Hey, that’s cool. They put my name on the poster. That was nice of them.’

I know poster is not the right word, but I cannot for the life of me think what it actually called right now, and I am sure that you know what I mean.

This got me thinking about posters. Back in the dawn of time when I was in Screwed & Clued Theatre Company, we used to put up hundreds of posters up in each town we were doing our shows in. Ye Gods, I hope that one day Gaia will forgive us for our seriously un-environmentally friendly actions. I think that is why I am so obsessed by recycling now. I am trying to pay off that debt.

I sat down with a coffee and listened to the show still vacantly staring at my computer screen and figuring out what was what. Then I heard John talk about me. My first thought was not ‘Cool, they are giving me a shout out on air’ but ‘David, why did you think they only put your name on the poster?’. How can I miss something that obvious? It always makes me laugh when people say I am clever. I can be sometimes. I can also be tear inducingly dumb sometimes. Still, such is life.

I then did think ‘Cool. They gave me a shout out on air.’ and my sincere thanks for that. It was a really great episode by the way, so you should check it out.

http://chrisbrakeshow.podomatic.com/entry/2014-09-05T18_10_29-07_00

Oh, and I have been listening to the early episodes and I think they have upgraded the site where the show is broadcast from, so it has a funky new screen.

I also have food poisoning today. I wrote this on Facebook, and I thought I would add it here for the fun of it.

‘Dear Chicago Town Take-Away Pizza.

Thank you so much for the delightful ball of hair and sponge I ate last night when trying your pizza. I must say, it is an unusual choice of topping. Thank you also for the food poisoning I think you have also given me. The inside of my mouth is rocking back and forth in the shower trying to repress the memory.

Disgustedly yours,

David.’

I have one final thought that my therapist was a bit stumped by. In fairness to her, if you think I am random in here, you should see me in therapy. I don’t know she makes sense of anything I say. Anyway, I asked this question:

With the id, ego and super-ego being what they are, how do I know that the part of my brain that tells me to be nice to people is not a part of my brain that wants me to be unhappy? What if that part knows that by trying to be nice I will suppress my anger and ultimately be unhappy. What if that part of my brain is in disguise and thinking ‘Nailed it. I have totally suckered this guy into taking shit and feeling bad about it?

She couldn’t answer and I have explained it way better here than I did yesterday. I am not sure what to think about it yet and I am mostly incapable of thinking anything at all today. I would welcome any thoughts on the subject.

Take care buddies,

David

About davidmbeecroft

Hello and welcome to my blog. Please feel free to have an explore. My name is David Beecroft. I am 38 years old. I co-founded and ran a small scale touring theatre company called Screwed & Clued in 1998. I went on to tour the Canadian Fringe Theatre Festival circuit over the following five years. I have written six original plays, the last ‘The Poe Show’ won a Best in Fest award at the 2014 Ottawa Fringe Festival. I worked in a social care setting for ten years and now work in a special needs school. I have sent my first novel off to agents and considering self-publishing if that does not work. I co-host a radio show on Surrey Hills Community Radio called Daves of the Week where we feature charities for a six week period. I live with my fiance and two pet Degus. I started this blog when suffering from depression and attending therapy, so a large part of this blog was about my experience and thoughts of that. Since then I am in a much better place and I write about life after depression and how I stay (or try to) ahead of it happening again. I also like to look at the happier sides of life and try to put a positive spin on serious subjects.

15 responses »

Leave a Reply

