Bruce Springsteen’s Wrecking Ball v Miley Cyrus’s Wrecking Ball.

Standard
Bruce Springsteen’s Wrecking Ball v Miley Cyrus’s Wrecking Ball.

Now, I am not here to slam Miley Cyrus. I should perhaps rephrase that. I am not here to have a go at Miley. I am here to write about Bruce Springsteen. The only reason I am mentioning Miley Cyrus is that I am genuinely angry that when you type in ‘Wrecking Ball’ on youtube, she comes on the list before Bruce does. You have to actually type B for Bruce before he appears, and even then, he is after Boyce Avenue and Bart Baker. And who the hell are they? 

I have been listening to Bruce since I was five. That is 32 years of listening to his music. He has been producing music since the early seventies. Take that in for a moment. Forty years of making music, and not just any old music, but truly outstanding work. 

I was talking with my new friend Chris Brake today about Bruce. Yup, when you have listened to him as long as I have, its a first name basis thing. We were talking about a line in ‘The River’ that goes ‘Is a dream a life that don’t come true, or is it something worse?’ This line has terrified me since I was about 8. When you think about, and oh how I have thought about it, what is worse than a life that does not come true? And that is the kicker. You then have to think about what would be worse than that. 

I don’t know what would be worse. It makes me think of Stephen King when he describes an unknown fear, always hovering on the edges, but never fully seen. The idea of what could be worse than a life that does not come true, is like that fear. I don’t know what would be worse, but that there could be something worse scares me. I never want to find out what it is. 

It is this sort of thing that makes me think about Springsteen’s power as a lyricist. His words are poetic, but rarely to the point where it is not accessible to everyone. 

‘Nuns run bald through Vatican hall, pregnant, screaming immaculate conception.’

‘Hey man did you see that? His body hit the street with such a beautiful thud.’

‘I guess there was more to all this that put that gun in my hand.’

‘Poor man wants to be rich, rich man wants to be King and a King ain’t satisfied till he rules everything.’

These were all just off the top of my head. Even with these random lines, you can see the love he has for the working man or woman, and I love that about him. He is, seemingly, still completely down to earth. He cares about his country and the people in it. He sings about issues that need to sung about. He does not ride naked on a fucking wrecking ball or lick a sledgehammer. 

All in all, I think Bruce Springsteen is one of the best signer songwriters the world has known. I think he deserves a little better than to come under Miley Cyrus (don’t do it Bruce, you do know where she has been) on youtube. So, if I can beg a favour? Please check out Wrecking Ball by Bruce Springsteen on youtube and lets see if we can get him to the top of that list. Credit where credit is due. 

Take care buddies, 

David. 

 

About davidmbeecroft

Hello and welcome to my blog. Please feel free to have an explore. My name is David Beecroft. I am 38 years old. I co-founded and ran a small scale touring theatre company called Screwed & Clued in 1998. I went on to tour the Canadian Fringe Theatre Festival circuit over the following five years. I have written six original plays, the last ‘The Poe Show’ won a Best in Fest award at the 2014 Ottawa Fringe Festival. I worked in a social care setting for ten years and now work in a special needs school. I have sent my first novel off to agents and considering self-publishing if that does not work. I co-host a radio show on Surrey Hills Community Radio called Daves of the Week where we feature charities for a six week period. I live with my fiance and two pet Degus. I started this blog when suffering from depression and attending therapy, so a large part of this blog was about my experience and thoughts of that. Since then I am in a much better place and I write about life after depression and how I stay (or try to) ahead of it happening again. I also like to look at the happier sides of life and try to put a positive spin on serious subjects.

Leave a Reply

