A Beginner’s Guide to Blogging (I am the beginner).

Standard
A Beginner’s Guide to Blogging (I am the beginner).

I have a cheeky little grin on my face. This is because I am of course aware that I posted yesterday about scams, and that my title for this post could be seen as a way to get people to give me money for advice. I know people might think this, and I am happy for them to do so as I am in mischievous mood.  However, fear not good people. I ask for nothing and the ideas I post will cost you nothing, as I have no money to spend on my blog either.

I was going to say ‘I don’t have two brass farthings to rub together.’ but this is simply not true. I found a heap of old coins, including two farthings at Dorking Deepdene train station two years ago. They are sat in a little plastic container on a shelf behind me. Oh, for anyone not familiar with the phrase, it means to be broke. To anyone not familiar with Dorking Deepdene train station, it is literally the worst train station in the England. And yes, I have checked each and every train station in the land, so the veracity of this comment can be fully trusted.

So, every once in a while, I like to take stock and see what I am doing, how well I am doing it, what could be improved of just abandoned. I was doing this for my blog, when I realised that I might as well share the thoughts that I was going to share with myself. And yes, this is literally how I talk to myself when making notes. So, here we go.

First off, let me make this clear. I have no real experience of blogging. This is what I have thought about and learnt in my brief time doing so. I haven’t spent any money on my blog. I have none. I think there are lovely things you can buy to make your blog better, but I am talking about a free, no frills blog. The blog version of Lidl’s/any low budget food chain. Is Cost-Co’s an actual thing or something I have heard in American cartoons?

The first thing I did after creating this blog was to get chatting to people. This was not a deliberate plan. I just like chatting to people, having a laugh and swapping ideas etc. From this, it seemed to come natural that I helped people out and then they helped me out. A share here for a like there. However, you don’t have to give all the goods away. See how much they help and reciprocate accordingly. Don’t let them feel you up at the prom and then never returns your calls.

Give the blog time to bed down. See what bits of your writing people like and see what needs to be worked on or done away with altogether. I think this is key. If you really don’t like something you wrote, trash it. I did. I didn’t want something I wasn’t proud of cluttering up my blog. It might be that something you never intended to write about is more popular than what you did intend to write about. Go with it. You never know what the audience will like. I have changed the name of my blog slightly to reflect what I actually writing about and not what I started writing about. I think making subtle changes is better than redoing the whole thing time and time again.

Spend time reading other blogs. Not just to raise awareness about yourself, but to meet cool, interesting, funny, thoughtful etc etc etc people. I have met a bunch of awesome people, not just through wordpress, but but linking with people they know in the outside world. These people in turn have been sharing my blog, so I would not have been half as seen as I have been without them.

Don’t go changing, to try and please me, love you just the way you are. And don’t go chasing rainbows. I tend to think sometimes, ‘How can I make this bigger, better, faster?’ When I think this through, I think, where is the rush? I am not going to be an overnight success, so why not take my time and be proud of what I am actually producing? It is too easy think, I should be like that, or say this, or whatever. Be you in the best way you can. People will either like it or not and this way I can say I was at least true to myself.

Think about what you are blogging about. Is it you, a product, an idea? Then think about how best to market that. Tag words seem to be very useful. I am experimenting with this at the minute, so if I have any grand revelations, I will pass them on. As I understand it so far, people will type in key-words to find blogs, so use those words that will most likely bring your blog to the attention of those people. Tag words can be as broad as they are niche. Try it out.

Finally, I think you can write about anything you like, as long as you write it in your own style. Whether it is funny or serious, write with your views, your thoughts and ideas, as chances are, you are thinking them in a way that is unique to you. Have faith in yourself.

I hope this helps anyone. It is just my two cents (and yes, I have those as well in the pile of coins) and it might help, and it might not. At least I am not asking for any money for it.

Take care buddies,

David.

About davidmbeecroft

Hello and welcome to my blog. Please feel free to have an explore. My name is David Beecroft. I am 38 years old. I co-founded and ran a small scale touring theatre company called Screwed & Clued in 1998. I went on to tour the Canadian Fringe Theatre Festival circuit over the following five years. I have written six original plays, the last ‘The Poe Show’ won a Best in Fest award at the 2014 Ottawa Fringe Festival. I worked in a social care setting for ten years and now work in a special needs school. I have sent my first novel off to agents and considering self-publishing if that does not work. I co-host a radio show on Surrey Hills Community Radio called Daves of the Week where we feature charities for a six week period. I live with my fiance and two pet Degus. I started this blog when suffering from depression and attending therapy, so a large part of this blog was about my experience and thoughts of that. Since then I am in a much better place and I write about life after depression and how I stay (or try to) ahead of it happening again. I also like to look at the happier sides of life and try to put a positive spin on serious subjects.

Leave a Reply

