Tackling Depression The Same Way I Tackle Computer Games.

Standard
Tackling Depression The Same Way I Tackle Computer Games.

I have had this idea rattling around my head for a while. My brain has recently become quiet enough for me to hear it. What if I tried to tackle my depression the same way I play computer games? Now, this is meant to be a light-hearted look at depression. I hope it also has some useful ideas that might help someone. I in no way mean to demean anyone’s depression or how anyone deals with it. These are merely my thoughts.

I woke up this morning thinking about how to beat Bane on Batman: Arkham Origins. I was getting my sweet derriere kicked by him last night and I thought I needed to change my tactics up a bit. So, if I thought about how to beat a game this much, why not put the same effort into dealing with depression and use similar tactics? This was when a post I wrote a while ago called ‘Max Payne 3 and Beating Levels of Depression.’ This is the link in case you are interested – https://davidmbeecroft.wordpress.com/2014/08/02/max-payne-3-and-beating-of-levels-of-depression/

In it I wrote about how the game made me think of ways of fighting back against depression. Now I have thought about it more, I think computer games in general offer some good advice to deal with feeling down. I shall explore some of my ideas as follows in the upcoming posts. This one will be about…

Buff Your Hero/Nerf Your Enemy.

So, we have all played games where you need to boost your hero so it can defeat the enemy. Well, I am presuming most people attracted to this post have played computer games, but if not, you are still welcome. And play some computer games, they are awesome. World of Warcraft comes to mind on this one. Pally buff for the win. Warlock debuff for another win. Yay, win win.

So we know the enemy is depression. Or anything that can lead to it. So, the buff is in itself a debuff for the enemy. Go make that comfort food (mine is macaroni cheese and southern fried chicken) and make yourself feel good. Put on that favourite sweater that brings out the colour of your eyes to radiant effect. Burst bubble wrap. Do whatever puts a smile on your face. You are already ahead of the enemy now. You have buffed yourself nice and good. How do you debuff him further?

Ok, so you have Divine Shield up and you know the enemy is going to attack at some point. How to make those attacks weaker? Knowing that the attack is coming means you can mentally prepare for that shizzle. If you are doing anything when depressed, chances are that you will feel like you won’t achieve it. That’s fine. Acknowledge it is only a feeling caused by depression and that it has no real bearing on the actual outcome. Perceived fear versus actual risk. That in itself weakens the thought. Do that with all thoughts that come from depression. Just say ‘Ok, that’s how you feel, but, I am going to think a different way.’

Buff/Debuff Combo Attack.

You need your hero to be stronger to survive the attacks? No problemo. Train that bad boy up. Go for a walk. Or a run. Or a bike ride. Or learn how to belly dance via youtube. Just get those sweet chemicals in your body going. Exercise makes you feel good. Feeling good means you are less likely to feel down. And you are now super buff to boot. Win win again right? Every positive thing you do for yourself makes the depression that much weaker. And eventually, that which is made weak cannot attack as strongly. Sorry, too many RPG’s I have played. And too many Yoda impressions I have done.

That Which Does Not Kill You Makes You Stronger.

So what is the end game for depression? When you think about it honestly and without wanting to put a nice coat of paint on it, what else can depression want but to see you dead or as close to it as makes no difference? I am not saying that everyone who is depressed feels suicidal, but some people who are depressed commit suicide. I don’t know about you, but that makes me so angry at depression that I want to punch it in its metaphorical face. It also makes me angry enough that I am not letting that son of a bitch depression beat me. In fact, I say, let’s take the war to it. Why sit around and wait for the enemy to attack? Attack first. Get the first blow in. Let it know that you are willing to fight every bit as hard and dirty as it will.

I can’t in all honesty say what happens after that. As I write this, it is real time for me, and I do not know what my future holds. You might read this months later and I have suffered a relapse and I am down again. Or I might be King of the World. Time will tell. I offer advice as much because I need to encourage myself and equally because I hope it helps someone else. If I can save someone the trouble of working out something about their depression that I might have a suggestion for, then I think it is the ultimate win win.

Take care buddies,

David.

About davidmbeecroft

Hello and welcome to my blog. Please feel free to have an explore. My name is David Beecroft. I am 38 years old. I co-founded and ran a small scale touring theatre company called Screwed & Clued in 1998. I went on to tour the Canadian Fringe Theatre Festival circuit over the following five years. I have written six original plays, the last ‘The Poe Show’ won a Best in Fest award at the 2014 Ottawa Fringe Festival. I worked in a social care setting for ten years and now work in a special needs school. I have sent my first novel off to agents and considering self-publishing if that does not work. I co-host a radio show on Surrey Hills Community Radio called Daves of the Week where we feature charities for a six week period. I live with my fiance and two pet Degus. I started this blog when suffering from depression and attending therapy, so a large part of this blog was about my experience and thoughts of that. Since then I am in a much better place and I write about life after depression and how I stay (or try to) ahead of it happening again. I also like to look at the happier sides of life and try to put a positive spin on serious subjects.

Leave a Reply

