Poster Boy For Therapy – (Someone Else’s Words, Not Mine).

Standard
Poster Boy For Therapy – (Someone Else’s Words, Not Mine).

I received a bitter sweet message from a friend the other day. It was sad because they told me they were having a hard time at work and were struggling. After talking to their boss, they were referred to a counsellor to help them with their issues. The upbeat part of this was that they said they had never thought as therapy as their thing, but after reading about me discussing my therapy, they felt less self-conscious about the concept and decided to give it a try. They even thanked me for making therapy seem less scary for them, which is the best reason I can think of for what I do on this blog. I mean the ‘less scary’ part, not the ‘thanks’.

It got me thinking. There has been a lot of media coverage recently about making people more aware of depression. While I agree this is a great first step, I am more happy that I have seen lots of people with depression discussing their feelings on sites like wordpress or other blog platforms. I believe this is the next step where depression is seen and spoken about without feeling the social stigma that comes with it, whether that is a stigma we placed upon ourselves or others.

I also think this honesty helps others feel like they can talk about how they feel, whether they are depressed or not. People can see that it is not only them who are down, or that they are not bad or weak people for struggling. I am so glad that someone sought help when they needed it rather than struggling to carry on when help is available. I hate to think of anyone suffering when there is something that could help them feel better.

If you feel down, consider seeing a therapist. It may take time to find the right person, and it may not be for everyone. Yet, I believe it is certainly an option worth exploring.

Take care buddies,

David.

About davidmbeecroft

Hello and welcome to my blog. Please feel free to have an explore. My name is David Beecroft. I am 38 years old. I co-founded and ran a small scale touring theatre company called Screwed & Clued in 1998. I went on to tour the Canadian Fringe Theatre Festival circuit over the following five years. I have written six original plays, the last ‘The Poe Show’ won a Best in Fest award at the 2014 Ottawa Fringe Festival. I worked in a social care setting for ten years and now work in a special needs school. I have sent my first novel off to agents and considering self-publishing if that does not work. I co-host a radio show on Surrey Hills Community Radio called Daves of the Week where we feature charities for a six week period. I live with my fiance and two pet Degus. I started this blog when suffering from depression and attending therapy, so a large part of this blog was about my experience and thoughts of that. Since then I am in a much better place and I write about life after depression and how I stay (or try to) ahead of it happening again. I also like to look at the happier sides of life and try to put a positive spin on serious subjects.

Leave a Reply

