Polite Request: Ideas for getting inspired again please.

Standard
Polite Request: Ideas for getting inspired again please.

It may be that winter is setting in or that I have spent too much time couped up in my flat, but I am feeling low on motivation and inspiration for writing today. I am a bit stuck with the play I am writing. I have most of the concept but I am missing the bridge between concept and putting down on paper as something I think would make good theatre.

I know there are many creatives types out there, so I am going to ask a question. What things do you do when you need to get your creative mojo going again when it has stalled. I personally go for the rock and roll option of tidying (I am coming for you bathroom) and cooking. Later I am going to make perogies. Well, I am going to try and make perogies so we will have to see how they actually turn out.

Do any of you have any ideas or tips for feeling inspired again? Nothing is too exotic as I believe in trying things out. I would love to hear from you.

Thank you,

David.

About davidmbeecroft

Hello and welcome to my blog. Please feel free to have an explore. My name is David Beecroft. I am 38 years old. I co-founded and ran a small scale touring theatre company called Screwed & Clued in 1998. I went on to tour the Canadian Fringe Theatre Festival circuit over the following five years. I have written six original plays, the last ‘The Poe Show’ won a Best in Fest award at the 2014 Ottawa Fringe Festival. I worked in a social care setting for ten years and now work in a special needs school. I have sent my first novel off to agents and considering self-publishing if that does not work. I co-host a radio show on Surrey Hills Community Radio called Daves of the Week where we feature charities for a six week period. I live with my fiance and two pet Degus. I started this blog when suffering from depression and attending therapy, so a large part of this blog was about my experience and thoughts of that. Since then I am in a much better place and I write about life after depression and how I stay (or try to) ahead of it happening again. I also like to look at the happier sides of life and try to put a positive spin on serious subjects.

7 responses »

  1. I usually find that reading others’ plays or writing (poetry, prose, anything) gets my competitive hackles going. And I think that it’s very easy to get inspiration from beautiful photography, which you can find on a variety of sites: Flickr, Instagram, or even Tumblr. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I usually read a book or a blog. That usually stirs my stagnant creative juice. Watching old episodes of 30 Rock also helps. Or watch Graham Norton. I may just be listing things I do to procrastinate.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

