Last Day of Therapy Feels Like My First Day at School.

Standard
Last Day of Therapy Feels Like My First Day at School.

I have been feeling antsy all week and I have only just put my finger on what is bothering me. I am finishing therapy tomorrow and I am feeling like I did on my first day of school when I was five. You know, that moment when your mum or dad’s hand lets go of yours and you have to walk in all by yourself? I admit that it is strange to compare the five year old me and the thirty-seven year old me that I am now. However, it is the best comparison to how I feel at the moment.

Aw jeez louise, my therapist girlfriend is going to have a Freudian field day with this. I am comparing my therapist to my mother and talking about abandonment issues. Although, it is not really abandonment in either case. It is merely what it feels like. If anything, I am abandoning my therapist and not the other way around. I guess it comes down to the same concept; having to do something by myself and not having someone’s hand there to hold mine.

The image of a blank slate is coming to me now. At five, I was a blank slate ready to be taught, which I presume is the reason for going to school in the first place (but that could be a whole other can of worms). Now, I am thirty-seven and I feel like I am a blank slate again. The negative/depressing thoughts I used to have are no longer there and I am figuring out what is going to go in their place. I think it is that uncertainty, that feeling of the hand letting go and knowing it is all on me now that is…

What word do I choose? Words are important to me. The choice of one word over another is essential to my recovery and how I plan to go forward in the future. Did you notice I used ‘antsy’ rather than ‘anxious’ at the start? This is not me trying to talk myself into one way of thinking. It is me using the right word to accurately reflect how I feel. I don’t feel anxious. I feel…uncertain. I don’t think it will all go bad when I stop therapy, but I am a liar if I say that I have no fears one way or the other. I am human.

So the word I am choosing is uncertainty. For everything that could be good and everything that could be bad, it is uncertain. Yet, I have made the decision to stop therapy and deep down I have a reason for that. For whatever uncertainties I feel, I believe that I am in a place where I can deal with them without needing a therapist. Now is the time for me to let go of a hand and go and check this big wide world out for myself.

As long as I do not wet myself and blame the puddle on the floor on a leaking radiator this time, I am sure it will all be fine.

Take care buddies,

David.

About davidmbeecroft

Hello and welcome to my blog. Please feel free to have an explore. My name is David Beecroft. I am 38 years old. I co-founded and ran a small scale touring theatre company called Screwed & Clued in 1998. I went on to tour the Canadian Fringe Theatre Festival circuit over the following five years. I have written six original plays, the last ‘The Poe Show’ won a Best in Fest award at the 2014 Ottawa Fringe Festival. I worked in a social care setting for ten years and now work in a special needs school. I have sent my first novel off to agents and considering self-publishing if that does not work. I co-host a radio show on Surrey Hills Community Radio called Daves of the Week where we feature charities for a six week period. I live with my fiance and two pet Degus. I started this blog when suffering from depression and attending therapy, so a large part of this blog was about my experience and thoughts of that. Since then I am in a much better place and I write about life after depression and how I stay (or try to) ahead of it happening again. I also like to look at the happier sides of life and try to put a positive spin on serious subjects.

2 responses »

  1. For what it’s worth, therapists feel anxious saying goodbye to clients too sometimes. Not because they’re anxious that their client won’t be ok without them, more that they’ve developed strong (and yes, sometimes motherly) connections with a client that it’s difficult not knowing what’s next in the story. It’s a strange kind of death.

    Now, I’m off to find a field…

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

