Music that I think deserves more notice.

Standard
Music that I think deserves more notice.

I wrote earlier about the desire to make it as a success. I also get bothered by people I think are really good that are not getting the coverage I think they deserve. So, in my own little way, I am going to try and alter that. I present to you bands and music that I have listened to this year that I really like and that I hope you like too. If you do like any of them, please take a moment to like Facebook pages, youtube channels, their own websites etc. Most of all, if you like something then pass it on. Word of mouth is still the best way to promote people. So, if you can, please do. They all have stuff out there, so I encourage you to go and do a musical treasure hunt and discover more about them for yourselves.

(In no particular order).

Mark Davidson (aka The Almighty Spit).

I love this guy. I am way too English to be able to rap in a kick ass way, so I love it when I find someone that can. Below is a link to a song called ‘Never Again’. You can also find a track on youtube called ‘March with the Devil’ which starts at 2.34 on a link from a podcast.

Dale J. Gordon.

A friend once said to me ‘I want to be cool. Like American cool. English people don’t do cool.’ I want to be cool like Dale. He has dreads for goodness sake. Also, he is a unique sound and I love things that are different, but good different. Below is a link to a song called ‘Ghost Candy’.

Mann Friday.

These guys have been going for ten years and considering some of the shit I hear on the radio, it baffles me how they are not bigger. There are so many good songs that I don’t know which one to pick. So, i will go with…

‘Sunrise Everyday’

Ryan Koriya.

Ryan is the bassist from Mann Friday and a singer/songwriter in his own right. Ryan is for the mellow mood days when I want to chill. I have added a link to ‘Ghost Rider’ which is a great song with an amazing video.

Lux Lisbon. 

I have only got into this band recently, but I know for sure they are keepers. I love their music and one of their songs is currently more than stuck in my head. I have added a link to a song called ‘Get Some Scars’ which is my favourite track of theirs.

Reverend Peyton’s Big Damn Band.

Deep down and dirty blues. God I love this. I really wish I was American sometimes so I could get into this scene and not look like a 30 something English guy trying to be cool and failing. They have a washboard and a guitar made out of a cigar box. Need I say more?

The song is called ‘Dirt’.

If you have any music that you would like to share in the comments, then please do. I am always interested in new things.

Take care buddies,

David.

About davidmbeecroft

Hello and welcome to my blog. Please feel free to have an explore. My name is David Beecroft. I am 38 years old. I co-founded and ran a small scale touring theatre company called Screwed & Clued in 1998. I went on to tour the Canadian Fringe Theatre Festival circuit over the following five years. I have written six original plays, the last ‘The Poe Show’ won a Best in Fest award at the 2014 Ottawa Fringe Festival. I worked in a social care setting for ten years and now work in a special needs school. I have sent my first novel off to agents and considering self-publishing if that does not work. I co-host a radio show on Surrey Hills Community Radio called Daves of the Week where we feature charities for a six week period. I live with my fiance and two pet Degus. I started this blog when suffering from depression and attending therapy, so a large part of this blog was about my experience and thoughts of that. Since then I am in a much better place and I write about life after depression and how I stay (or try to) ahead of it happening again. I also like to look at the happier sides of life and try to put a positive spin on serious subjects.

7 responses »

Leave a Reply

