Social Media Do’s and Don’ts.

Standard
Social Media Do’s and Don’ts.

First off, this is a list for me. I am not here to judge others. If anyone will be judged by me, it is me. I simply need a wig and black robe. For anyone not familiar with the British justice system’s outfit of choice, judges wear wigs and black robes. No, I do not know why. Perhaps their heads get cold from all the thinking and judging and they lose head heat faster than others?

Anyways, my list of social media do’s and don’ts reflect my own thoughts about what I should do or not do, but by all means come along for the ride.

Do.

Use social media to make connections with people across the world and do groovy things. Start projects with people who I would have never have contacted if not for social media. See where life takes me.

Don’t.

Look at other people’s stats. Seriously, it is the path to the dark side. Whether other people get a certain amount of tweets, likes, comments, shares etc etc etc has no relevance to what I do.

Do.

Find new and interesting things. The world is chock full of bands I have never heard, books I have never read and films I have never seen. Find out what is going on in the world past what is ‘popular’. I am looking at you One Direction.

Don’t.

Use social media to distract myself from the more important things I should be doing. A notification of whether someone went to the pub will still be there after I have finished writing or reading or anything that actually benefits me in some conceivable way.

Do.

Take time to look at videos of funny cats, dogs, cute babies, cute babies with dogs and/or cats or any combination that makes me happy. This is not wasted time. Anything that can make me feel them lovely feels is not wasted time. It is an improvement to me as a person.

Don’t.

Use social media as a way of venting about something that is not the thing I want to vent at. So no stupid arguments over nothing because I am annoyed at the world in general.

Do.

Run like hell away from all social media at least once a day. Go outside. Leave the phone at home. Try and find someone giving away free puppies (God I want a dog). Anything that involves the real actual physical world.

Don’t.

Google myself. Don’t be that guy.

Do.

Google myself.

(Whoa dude, what the hell? You totally undercut me there).

(Sorry dude. You know as well as I that you have googled yourself more than once).

(Are you mocking the use of the word dude? Seriously?).

(Yeah sorry).

(You trying not to giggle at the turn of phrase ‘googling yourself more than once’ because it sounds ever so slightly naughty?).

(Yeah).

(Sweet).

(Fist bump).

Don’t.

Have mini arguments with myself on social media. That stuff stays out there.

Take care buddies,

David.

About davidmbeecroft

Hello and welcome to my blog. Please feel free to have an explore. My name is David Beecroft. I am 38 years old. I co-founded and ran a small scale touring theatre company called Screwed & Clued in 1998. I went on to tour the Canadian Fringe Theatre Festival circuit over the following five years. I have written six original plays, the last ‘The Poe Show’ won a Best in Fest award at the 2014 Ottawa Fringe Festival. I worked in a social care setting for ten years and now work in a special needs school. I have sent my first novel off to agents and considering self-publishing if that does not work. I co-host a radio show on Surrey Hills Community Radio called Daves of the Week where we feature charities for a six week period. I live with my fiance and two pet Degus. I started this blog when suffering from depression and attending therapy, so a large part of this blog was about my experience and thoughts of that. Since then I am in a much better place and I write about life after depression and how I stay (or try to) ahead of it happening again. I also like to look at the happier sides of life and try to put a positive spin on serious subjects.

8 responses »

Leave a Reply

