Daves of the Week – A Surrey Hills Community Radio show.

Standard
Daves of the Week – A Surrey Hills Community Radio show.

I want you to imagine a fanfare and a drum roll in your head as I do not know how to convey those noises via the written word. (Got that noise going in your noggin?. Good, then I will begin).

I am co-hosting a new radio show called ‘Daves of the Week’ on Surrey Hills Community Radio starting on the 16th January 2015 9.00pm-11.00pm. Needless to say I am very excited. Like many things I get excited about I do not technically have any experience of hosting a radio show. I see no reason to let a little thing like this stop me from trying. Everyone is a novice at the start of something. Except prodigies, and frankly, that is just cheating.

I am taking it seriously though. I have done my research and done what I usually do when faced with a problem; think about it incessantly. I have got the first show pretty much mapped out. It will be a mix of discussion of community topics, music, games and we are going to try and focus on local charities. This is the plan anyways. Mice and men and all that.

If you are at all interested (or if you are not interested and want to help me out) you can visit our Facebook page on

https://www.facebook.com/davesoftheweek?ref=aymt_homepage_panel

or tweet us at

https://twitter.com/davesoftheweek

or you can Instagram us at

http://instagram.com/davesoftheweeksurreyhills/

We would love it if you would like to make song requests, message the show, suggest topic to be discussed and make contact.

The show itself can be listened to on

http://www.surreyhillsradio.co.uk/

and it will also be uploaded to Mixcloud if you can’t listen to the show live

http://www.mixcloud.com/

If you could spare the time to share, like, tweet etc the show, I would be very greatful. As it is an online station, it can be listened to anywhere, so people from around the world, please feel free to join in.

Take care buddies,

David.

About davidmbeecroft

Hello and welcome to my blog. Please feel free to have an explore. My name is David Beecroft. I am 38 years old. I co-founded and ran a small scale touring theatre company called Screwed & Clued in 1998. I went on to tour the Canadian Fringe Theatre Festival circuit over the following five years. I have written six original plays, the last โ€˜The Poe Showโ€™ won a Best in Fest award at the 2014 Ottawa Fringe Festival. I worked in a social care setting for ten years and now work in a special needs school. I have sent my first novel off to agents and considering self-publishing if that does not work. I co-host a radio show on Surrey Hills Community Radio called Daves of the Week where we feature charities for a six week period. I live with my fiance and two pet Degus. I started this blog when suffering from depression and attending therapy, so a large part of this blog was about my experience and thoughts of that. Since then I am in a much better place and I write about life after depression and how I stay (or try to) ahead of it happening again. I also like to look at the happier sides of life and try to put a positive spin on serious subjects.

11 responses »

  1. I really do hope it goes well… I will try tune in ๐Ÿ˜‰ Oh and drum roll in words online, I think, would simply be *drum roll*. If you put those little * between the words, it seems to convey the action. *smiles*

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

