There is a time to surf and a time to wax your board.

Standard
There is a time to surf and a time to wax your board.

The title of this post is from a 1990’s sit-com called Game On and it has stuck with me through the years mainly because it makes a lot of sense. Me being me, I do not always follow concepts that would make my life easier. This weekend however, it was most certainly time to wax my board. (Not a euphemism).

In case you are unclear on what I mean by this phrase, think of it like this; there is a time for doing and a time for not doing. Many of us are doing things all the time; working, cleaning, cooking, laundry and this list can go on and on. A lot of this is unavoidable. What I am going to suggest to you is to find time, even a little, when you don’t do anything. I can already hear people saying there isn’t enough time and this may be true, but I believe there is always room for a little of time for ourselves.

Let me set the scene. Last week was the penultimate week before my school breaks for Christmas holidays and we were rehearsing for the Christmas play. Teachers and pupils alike were tired and everyone was a little down in the dumps. I was exhausted by the end of Monday and still had the rest of the week to go. When I came home, I blogged, worked on my radio show, tidied and basically found anything that I could to keep busy in spite of the fact that I really wanted to do nothing.

I was my own worst enemy in this respect and as I look back I can see that I was creating my own problems by moaning about having to do all these things when in reality, they could have kept for a day or two. The laundry needed doing, but it did not need doing the second I stepped through the door. I wanted to blog but I did not have to blog as soon as I stepped through the door. They both could have kept, but then it wouldn’t have given me the chance to grumble about how busy I was and that I did not have any time to rest. In case you don’t know, I am English and we do tend to like a good grumble.

The crunch point was on Thursday when I actually told a pair of socks to f*** off. Yes, I swore at socks for being on the floor (where I had left them) and for being dirty (because I had worn them). Then I sat down on my floor and laughed at myself. The situation was absurd. I had other socks to wear and I knew I could do laundry on the weekend when I had more time.

I had wound myself up like a masochistic watch until my springs were ready to go twang. I needn’t have made my life as difficult as I was but I was caught up in a cycle of not stopping even when I really needed to and then getting annoyed for not stopping which then made me more tired and stressed and more in need of a break.

I made a plan for the weekend to break this cycle and I hope it helps you if you are in the same situation. There were things I needed to get done at the weekend. I needed to finish my Christmas shopping, do laundry, sort my mum’s Christmas dinner out, go to a Jazz evening and spend time with my girlfriend. All of this was achieved, but not before I gave myself a chance to breath.

I had a little lie in then I went shopping. I gave myself time to shop so it wasn’t stressful. I went to a Jazz evening. On Sunday, I did laundry, got the last of the presents bought online and paid for my mum’s Christmas dinner. Then I watched The Flash for a few hours before sorting dinner. By episode two of The Flash, I could feel myself brightening. I was happier, less grumpy and feeling rested and ready to take on the world. Rather than force myself to write a blog post that would have been rubbish, I decided to wait until Monday (aka now) to write as I knew it could wait.

That is my advice to you. Ask yourself if what you think needs doing know, really does need doing now. If it can be done later and you are stressed and tired, do not make it worse by forcing yourself to go past your breaking point. Ease your foot off the peddle and slow down. It will still be there to be done later and you will make a better job of it by being rested.

Take care buddies,

David.

 

About davidmbeecroft

Hello and welcome to my blog. Please feel free to have an explore. My name is David Beecroft. I am 38 years old. I co-founded and ran a small scale touring theatre company called Screwed & Clued in 1998. I went on to tour the Canadian Fringe Theatre Festival circuit over the following five years. I have written six original plays, the last ‘The Poe Show’ won a Best in Fest award at the 2014 Ottawa Fringe Festival. I worked in a social care setting for ten years and now work in a special needs school. I have sent my first novel off to agents and considering self-publishing if that does not work. I co-host a radio show on Surrey Hills Community Radio called Daves of the Week where we feature charities for a six week period. I live with my fiance and two pet Degus. I started this blog when suffering from depression and attending therapy, so a large part of this blog was about my experience and thoughts of that. Since then I am in a much better place and I write about life after depression and how I stay (or try to) ahead of it happening again. I also like to look at the happier sides of life and try to put a positive spin on serious subjects.

Leave a Reply

